About – Danspace Project


Danspace Project presents new work in dance, supports a diverse range of choreographers in developing their work, encourages experimentation, and connects artists to audiences.

For over 40 years, Danspace Project has supported a vital community of contemporary dance artists in an environment unlike any other in the United States. Located in the historic St. Mark’s Church in-the-Bowery, Danspace shares its facility with the Church, The Poetry Project, and New York Theatre Ballet. Danspace Project’s Commissioning Initiative has commissioned over 570 new works since its inception in 1994.

Danspace Project at St. Mark's Church. Photo: Anya Hitzenberger.

Danspace Project at St. Mark’s Church. Photo: Anya Hitzenberger.

Danspace Project’s Choreographic Center Without Walls (CW²) provides context for audiences and increased support for artists. Our public programs (including Danspace Presents, Platforms, Food for Thought, DraftWork), Commissioning Initiative, residencies, guest artist curators, and contextualizing activities and materials are core components of CW² offering a responsive framework for artists’ works. Since 2010, we have produced twelve Platforms, published twelve print catalogues and five e-books, launched the Conversations Without Walls discussion series, and explored models for public discourse and residencies.


  • Executive Director and Chief Curator

    Judy Hussie-Taylor

  • Program Director and Associate Curator

    Lydia Bell
    (212) 674-8112

  • Director of Finance & Operations

    Jodi Bender
    (212) 674-8132

  • Director of Development

    Peggy H. Cheng
    (212) 674-3838

  • Communications Director

    Lily Cohen
    (212) 674-5856

  • Curatorial Fellow

    Kristin Juarez

  • Development Associate

    Lianna King
    (212) 674-3530

  • Assistant Curator & Development Associate

    Seta Morton
    (212) 674-3554

  • Production Manager

    Sophie Sotsky
    (212) 674-5855

  • Lighting Designers

    Kathy Kaufmann
    Carol Mullins

  • Senior House Manager

    Jordan Morley

  • House Manager

    Grace Osborne

  • Senior Box Office Manager

    Emma Rose Brown

  • Box Office Managers

    E G Condon
    Ella Wasserman-Smith

  • DraftWork Curator

    Ishmael Houston-Jones

  • House Photographers

    Tom Brazil
    Ian Douglas

Board of Directors

  • President

    Helen Warwick

  • First Vice President

    Sam Miller, In Memoriam, 2013-2018

  • Vice President

    David Parker

  • Secretary

    Melissa Levin

  • Treasurer

    Sarah Needham

  • Officer-at-Large

    David Fanger

  • Suzanne Bocanegra
    Trisha Brown, In Memoriam, 2006-2017
    Anthony Calnek
    Douglas Dunn, Emeritus
    Hilary Easton
    Adrienne Edwards
    Ishmael Houston-Jones, Emeritus
    Judy Hussie-Taylor
    Thomas Lax
    Ralph Lemon, Emeritus
    Bebe Miller, Emeritus
    Rashaun Mitchell
    Eiko Otake
    Judilee Reed
    Linda Stein
    Nina Winthrop

Artists Advisory Board

Chair: Ain Gordon
Jonah Bokaer
Wally Cardona
David Dorfman
Jeanine Durning
Miguel Gutierrez
Trajal Harrell
Iréne Hultman
John Jasperse
Heidi Latsky
Tere O'Connor
Risa Steinberg
Donna Uchizono
Christopher Williams
Nami Yamamoto