home about programs performances support contact
New York Dance and Performance Awards
a.k.a. The Bessies

Established in 1983, The Bessies acknowledge outstanding creative work by independent artists in the fields of dance and related performance in New York City. Annually, over 450 artists, producers, and press join in a ceremony to honor the diversity of ideas that makes New York's contemporary performing arts community thrive.

The 2009 Bessies Announcement

The New York Dance and Performance Awards have been suspended for the 2008-09 season. During this hiatus, the producers are re-imagining the awards to better meet the needs of both the dance/performance community and the public and to retain and enhance the value of the awards.

Bessies Committee 2008-2009:

Nolini Barretto
Rashida Bumbray
Lili Chopra
Nancy Dalva
Joan Finkelstein
Boo Froebel
Stephen Greco (committee chair)
Ishmael Houston-Jones
Judy Hussie-Taylor (Co-Producer)
Virginia Johnson
Brad Learmonth
Stanford Makishi
Brian McCormick
Nicky Paraiso
Carla Peterson (Co-Producer)
Brian Rogers
Philip Sandstrom
Yoko Shioya
Sydney Skybetter
Ivan Sygoda
Charmaine Warren
Martin Wechsler (Co-Producer)
Eva Yaa Asantewaa
Susan Yung

See a full list of past Bessie Award recipients.

131 East 10th Street • New York, NY 10003 • info: 212-674-8112 • fax: 212-529-2318 • tickets: (866) 811-4111 • email us