Photo: Alastair Muir

Photo: Alastair Muir

Jonathan Burrows & Matteo Fargion

Cheap Lecture and The Cow Piece

November 3, 2011
Thursday at 7:00PM
$18; $12 for Danspace Project members

purchase tickets

member tickets

Danspace Project collaborates with the Performa 11 Biennial and Janet Panetta, curator of International Dance Dialogues to present a selection of duets by Jonathan Burrows & Matteo Fargion.

London-based Burrows, a former soloist with the Royal Ballet, founder of Jonathan Burrows Group, and a published author (A Choreographer's Handbook, 2010) has been working collaboratively with other artists since 2001. Fargion began writing music for Burrows in 1989, and soon the artists redefined their collaboration while working on a series of duets.

On this occasion they present the first complete trilogy they made: Both Sitting Duet (2002), The Quiet Dance (2005), and Speaking Dance (2006); and the first two parts of their second trilogy: Cheap Lecture (2009) and The Cow Piece (2009).

The award-winning rhythmic spoken performance Cheap Lecture is a translation of John Cage’s “Lecture on Nothing.” The Cow Piece is a chaotic meditation on dance, music, and mortality.

Funding Credit
Cheap Lecture was commissioned by Cultureel Centrum Maasmechelen and Dans in Limburg and first performed at the Cultureel Centrum Maasmechelen. The Cow Piece was co-produced by Kaaitheater, Brussels. Special Thanks to Janet Panetta, curator of International Dance Dialogues.